Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the TOEFL.


Thumbnails

Jan 23, 2018

Score Improvement: +16 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 114
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 29
What was your writing score? 28
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 24
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 25
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 24
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
its helped me with everything by making me comfortable with all the aspects of the test.
Thumbnails

Jan 18, 2018

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 94
What was your reading score? 22
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 23
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 21
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 20
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 22
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 22
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me in structuring my essay in writing but I still need to improve my score because I only got 23 on my last toefl.
Thumbnails

Jan 11, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 97
What was your reading score? 24
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 20
What was your writing score? 26
How did Magoosh help you?
With exercises.
Thumbnails

Jan 4, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 96
What was your reading score? 22
What was your listening score? 26
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 24
How did Magoosh help you?
It's flexible to study with the use of magoosh. Good material for self study.
Thumbnails

Jan 3, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 102
What was your reading score? 23
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to know the exam and its sections precisely. All the explanations about pace of time, sections, type of questions, etc were essential to work on the right strategies. The exercises were extremely important to know how to control my time and to improve my (academic) vocabulary.
I strongly recommend studying with Magoosh!
Thumbnails

Jan 2, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 106
What was your reading score? 26
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 27
How did Magoosh help you?
The preparation material and videos helped a lot. The practice questions were to the point and resembled the kind of questions one gets in real TOEFL exam. I had less 3 weeks(give or take) to prepare for the exam. The video tutorials/lessons were very good. Also, the practice questions were of huge help, and the answer videos for the questions helped me to better my score in the speaking section. I was really impressed by the fact that I could take these video lessons wherever I was-be it during traveling or during break time in office. I could not devote more than 3 hours daily for the preparation of TOEFL but the video lessons helped immensely and the practice questions made me confident for the exam. I would highly recommend Magoosh to anyone who is preparing for TOEFL/GRE/GMAT.
Thumbnails

Jan 2, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 113
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
I used Magoosh plus a couple of other TOEFL prep resources (Princeton Review for strategies and official ETS material for practice) to study for the exam. Out of which, I found Magoosh quite reliable as it is the most user-friendly way to study for the test. With a wide range of prep questions and video lessons, its study template is very convenient to use and hassle-free, even on the go. I like the fact that it immediately tells you if have answered the questions correctly along with detailed explanations for the wrong ones. Plus, studying online helps you get used to the test-like conditions as well.You can, also, review all the questions you have answered in one place . In my opinion, these features surely help to cut down on unnecessary prep time and study efficiently. As I was in a time crunch and needed an essential study resource in addition to the official guide, Magoosh was an apt choice.

Start your TOEFL prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jan 1, 2018

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 101
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 23
What was your writing score? 24
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice tests and video explanations were remarkably helpful, thank you!
Thumbnails

Dec 31, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 107
What was your reading score? 26
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 26
How did Magoosh help you?
Much
Thumbnails

Dec 30, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 103
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 22
What was your writing score? 24
How did Magoosh help you?
Understanding the test was crucial! That is where Magoosh helped me so much! Also some of the assignments were even harder than on my actual Toefl which helped me staying focused on more learning and improving. Thanks
Thumbnails

Dec 30, 2017

Score Improvement: +30 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 110
What was your reading score? 26
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 29
What was your writing score? 26
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 26
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 25
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 22
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 6
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me a lot since I was clueless about TOEFL before I signed up. The dashboard is effective and easy to use, I started right away after logging in. The phone apps were also very useful, I was able to study from anywhere! I loved Lucas's way of teaching, it was clear and to the point. I personally think Magoosh is a better alternative than a face-to-face course, it's way cheaper and worth the price.
Thumbnails

Dec 30, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 107
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 30
What was your speaking score? 23
What was your writing score? 26
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me to improve my time management.
Thumbnails

Dec 21, 2017

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 111
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 26
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 30
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 28
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 23
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
I knew I would be ok with the reading and the listening, so I just did some of the practice questions everyday before the actual test to get familiar with the format. But Id always been secretly scared of the speaking and listening parts. I found the Magoosh app for speaking practice really helpful. The lessons on writing were a big help, too.
Thumbnails

Dec 20, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 100
What was your reading score? 24
What was your listening score? 26
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 26
How did Magoosh help you?
TOEFL@Magoosh has many insightful tutorial videos. It covered all the possible ways the TOEFL exam could come at you. The question bank is excellent and properly organized to show visual progress as you go through each question, which in turn was very helpful to know where my strengths and weaknesses lie.

Start your TOEFL prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Dec 20, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 107
What was your reading score? 26
What was your listening score? 26
What was your speaking score? 27
What was your writing score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has really helped me to achieve this score through their extensive lessons and practice tests. Also with their one month preparation plan it was easier for me to focus on the right things and improved my listening and Speaking skills . Also, Magoosh's vocabulary flash cards bolstered my English vocabulary with new words.
Thumbnails

Dec 20, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 111
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 28
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? No
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? No
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? No
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? No
How did Magoosh help you?
I took just 2 week intensive training and really liked the explanations and all the videos - used a lot of practice and questions. My English base was actually good, but Magoosh prepared me exactly for the test, especially for reading part thanks to the video explanations I figured out what is important and what I just can skip. Also was useful for the structure of writing, timing, particular phrases.
Thumbnails

Dec 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 103
What was your reading score? 26
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 27
What was your writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
It really heleped me because it has allowed me to pracice on computer which is much more similiar to the actual test than practicing from books or paper based materials only. Also Magoosh gave me couple of important advices about test. It heleped me to study for the test on daily basis which was influential for me to be totally familiar with concepts of the test.
I loved the interface. It was really easy to understand and to use the app.
Thumbnails

Dec 18, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 102
What was your reading score? 29
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 22
How did Magoosh help you?
The system is close to perfect. I spent one month and i scored what i wanted. Thanks!
Thumbnails

Dec 14, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 107
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 23
What was your writing score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
As I had a paucity of time, k straight away started with the questions. They helped a lot

Thumbnails

Dec 13, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 101
What was your reading score? 24
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 22
How did Magoosh help you?
Detailed videos helped me understand the pattern. I was not confident about speaking, especially with time constraints. The practice questions with sample recordings helped me understand gaps and improve upon.
Thumbnails

Dec 13, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 112
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me get familiar with the test pattern and practice various question types due to which I could perform well in the exam

Start your TOEFL prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Dec 13, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 108
What was your reading score? 29
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 27
What was your writing score? 27
How did Magoosh help you?
My experience with magoosh was simply great. First off, it's the only prep material suggesting the right amount of prep time( one month is the highlighted green plan ). Next, you guys do a great job clearing up difficulties ASAP and Lucas makes the lessons fun with his jokes. And finally, Magoosh gave me a 10$ discount cause i had a GRE account previously( that too, almost an year ago!!)
In all, thanks magoosh. You guys really are the best.
( This response might sound a lot like those TOEFl essays that lucas teaches x)....but hey, that's what got me a good score....see that i am applying it in real life =)
Thumbnails

Dec 10, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 106
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 23
What was your writing score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice material is awesome. Keep helping people like me. I had problem with listening and speaking section. However, the copious amount of practice questions made it very easy for me on final day.
Thumbnails

Dec 9, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 101
What was your reading score? 26
What was your listening score? 26
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
I learnt how the exam is structured and had some practice on reading :)
Thumbnails

Dec 7, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 110
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 28
What was your writing score? 27
How did Magoosh help you?
The best approach to every section discussed in the videos helped me a lot to crack the exam.