Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the TOEFL.


Thumbnails

Feb 21, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 99
What was your reading score? 25
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 23
How did Magoosh help you?
The Magoosh lesson videos are informative and contain useful content. Two existing features such as the simulated iBT test and performance pie chart/table helped me identify my mistakes and improve my exam score.
Thumbnails

Feb 8, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 101
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 23
What was your speaking score? 23
What was your writing score? 28
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? n/a
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? n/a
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? n/a
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? n/a
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was really helpful for reading, listening and speaking sections. I highly appreciate Magoosh vocabulary flashcards. They are awesome resource to learn appropriate TOEFL vocabulary.
Thumbnails

Feb 8, 2018

Score Improvement: +12 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 103
What was your reading score? 22
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 27
What was your writing score? 29
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 20
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 20
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 28
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 23
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh was instrumental in providing all the resources needed to excel in the TOEFL. The video lessons were coherent and easy to understand and recall. The practice questions followed by video explanations helped me to be more analytical at the same time guided me to apply strategies in a smart way. Writing and Speaking are my strengths and I wanted them to be highlighted in my score. On the other hand, Listening was a weak area for me as I was not able to understand the inference based questions but I did good in that section as well. Ofcourse, I could have garnered more points in the reading section if I had managed my time a bit well in the experimental passage. I am glad that I chose magoosh and would highly recommend to anyone who wants to score a good score in the TOEFL. :)
Thumbnails

Feb 8, 2018

Score Improvement: +4 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 112
What was your reading score? 29
What was your listening score? 30
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 29
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to quickly recap the format of the exam, I had 5-6 days for preparation. It was very comfortable to prepare with Magoosh, to go through tasks and then analyze them with right answers, trying to improve. It is a really great platform with tons of accumulated knowledge about TOEFL. I feel like I improved note-taking, at least for listening, and structuring the essay (I dont remember exactly previous writing score, but it was lower). Also Speaking is hard for me in life too, so Magoosh at least gave me confidence for what to expect and how to be prepared.
Thumbnails

Feb 1, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 114
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 29
What was your writing score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh's online was a complete guide to Toefl that I was. In just 4 weeks, I went from knowing nothing about TOEFL to getting the score I desired. I would not have been able to do this without magoosh. I would like to thank the entire magoosh team for creating such effective courses.
Thumbnails

Jan 31, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 111
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 28
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? I didn't
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? I didn't
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? I didn't
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? I didn't
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has the best pool of questions to practice. And also the full length practice tests helped me a lot for both GRE and TOEFL.
Thumbnails

Jan 30, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 110
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 30
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 26
How did Magoosh help you?
I got a 110 on my first attempt and magoosh is to blame for it.
I took the 1 month study plan. Lessons are crystal clear and aim for the key topics, extremely helpful. Also, the provided study plan was really helpful as one doesn't have to worry about planning it.

Start your TOEFL prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jan 29, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 117
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 30
What was your writing score? 27
How did Magoosh help you?
Having used Magoosh for GRE earlier I knew it was going to be the most effective preparatory tool for TOEFL as well. And it was!
I think the most useful feature that Magoosh has to offer is the "Custom Practice" feature. This feature helps the test takers concentrate on the section of the test that they feel they need most practice with.
Thumbnails

Jan 27, 2018

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 105
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 27
What was your writing score? 23
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? Don't have it. Account expired.
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? Don't have it. Account expired.
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? Don't have it. Account expired.
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? Don't have it. Account expired.
How did Magoosh help you?
Honestly, I studied for a day. I only looked at the test pattern.
Thumbnails

Jan 27, 2018

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 101
What was your reading score? 25
What was your listening score? 30
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 20
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 23
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 25
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 21
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 19
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh videos help me with tips and a solid strategy, the formulas , examples and vocabulary was very useful and the simulator was excellent for practice because the exercises are similar to real TOEFL exam, thank you magoosh now I have the English score required to study my master degree .
Thumbnails

Jan 26, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 108
What was your reading score? 29
What was your listening score? 30
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
Well, To be honest I only used it for two weeks not a month....The description of reading, speaking and writing sections was informative....and the practice questions were super helpful.It actually taught me what mistake I am doing by providing elaborated answer along with video explanations in case of practice questions.

You people are awesome....they even extended my time when I requested them.
Thumbnails

Jan 26, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 102
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 26
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
the reading and listening passages were top class
Thumbnails

Jan 24, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 105 (achieved my goal)
What was your reading score? 29
What was your listening score? 30
What was your speaking score? 23
What was your writing score? 23
How did Magoosh help you?
It help me by providing some basic warnings about the test, they really help you familiarize with the structure of the test.
Also, Magoosh provide a lot of practice that was really useful.
Thumbnails

Jan 24, 2018

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 97
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 24
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 22
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 24
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 24
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 17
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
With all the exercises and the lessons, not only to understand the test's structure, but also yo actually answer as the graders expect you to answer.

Start your TOEFL prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jan 24, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 113
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 29
What was your writing score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
The greatest help was provided in speaking and writing. Right from providing templates and sample audios for all score levels to video lessons explaining all sections holistically, Magoosh' s portal was a great help.
Thumbnails

Jan 22, 2018

Score Improvement: +16 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 114
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 29
What was your writing score? 28
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 24
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 25
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 24
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
its helped me with everything by making me comfortable with all the aspects of the test.
Thumbnails

Jan 18, 2018

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 94
What was your reading score? 22
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 23
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 21
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 20
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 22
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 22
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me in structuring my essay in writing but I still need to improve my score because I only got 23 on my last toefl.
Thumbnails

Jan 11, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 97
What was your reading score? 24
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 20
What was your writing score? 26
How did Magoosh help you?
With exercises.
Thumbnails

Jan 4, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 96
What was your reading score? 22
What was your listening score? 26
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 24
How did Magoosh help you?
It's flexible to study with the use of magoosh. Good material for self study.
Thumbnails

Jan 3, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 102
What was your reading score? 23
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to know the exam and its sections precisely. All the explanations about pace of time, sections, type of questions, etc were essential to work on the right strategies. The exercises were extremely important to know how to control my time and to improve my (academic) vocabulary.
I strongly recommend studying with Magoosh!
Thumbnails

Jan 2, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 106
What was your reading score? 26
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 27
How did Magoosh help you?
The preparation material and videos helped a lot. The practice questions were to the point and resembled the kind of questions one gets in real TOEFL exam. I had less 3 weeks(give or take) to prepare for the exam. The video tutorials/lessons were very good. Also, the practice questions were of huge help, and the answer videos for the questions helped me to better my score in the speaking section. I was really impressed by the fact that I could take these video lessons wherever I was-be it during traveling or during break time in office. I could not devote more than 3 hours daily for the preparation of TOEFL but the video lessons helped immensely and the practice questions made me confident for the exam. I would highly recommend Magoosh to anyone who is preparing for TOEFL/GRE/GMAT.

Start your TOEFL prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jan 2, 2018

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 113
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
I used Magoosh plus a couple of other TOEFL prep resources (Princeton Review for strategies and official ETS material for practice) to study for the exam. Out of which, I found Magoosh quite reliable as it is the most user-friendly way to study for the test. With a wide range of prep questions and video lessons, its study template is very convenient to use and hassle-free, even on the go. I like the fact that it immediately tells you if have answered the questions correctly along with detailed explanations for the wrong ones. Plus, studying online helps you get used to the test-like conditions as well.You can, also, review all the questions you have answered in one place . In my opinion, these features surely help to cut down on unnecessary prep time and study efficiently. As I was in a time crunch and needed an essential study resource in addition to the official guide, Magoosh was an apt choice.
Thumbnails

Jan 1, 2018

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 101
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 23
What was your writing score? 24
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice tests and video explanations were remarkably helpful, thank you!
Thumbnails

Dec 31, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 107
What was your reading score? 26
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 26
How did Magoosh help you?
Much
Thumbnails

Dec 30, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 103
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 22
What was your writing score? 24
How did Magoosh help you?
Understanding the test was crucial! That is where Magoosh helped me so much! Also some of the assignments were even harder than on my actual Toefl which helped me staying focused on more learning and improving. Thanks