Read Student Reviews

These are survey responses from actual Magoosh students after they took the TOEFL.


Thumbnails

Aug 9, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 110
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has been instrumental in providing the proper ways to tackle various type of questions. And they actually work.
Thumbnails

Aug 9, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 105
What was your reading score? 25
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 28
What was your writing score? 24
How did Magoosh help you?
Questions in the magoosh practice sessions we're very similar in terms of difficulty, to the real test. Magoosh helped me improve a lot on my reading skills.
Thumbnails

Aug 9, 2017

Score Improvement: +9 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 91
What was your reading score? 22
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 22
What was your writing score? 22
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 20
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 22
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 23
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 17
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh is great!
The videos help a lot. The explanation about each question makes me understand how the test is done and what the graders expect.
Thumbnails

Jul 27, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 103
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 22
How did Magoosh help you?
The most useful tips given in your tutorial videos, for both reading and listening sections, were: how to recognize the specific type of questions and approach how to solve each of them and following these tips I had enough time to answer every question and even saved some extra time for reviewing answers in reading section. For speaking and writing section, what good answer/essay should or should't include had been the best piece of advice that I recalled during mentioned test sections and successfully implemented in my answers and essays.
Thank you very much :)
Thumbnails

Jul 27, 2017

Score Improvement: +18 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 103
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 26
What was your speaking score? 22
What was your writing score? 27
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 21
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 21
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 20
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 23
How did Magoosh help you?
Mainly by providing practice question similar to actual TOEFL. Also providing some techniques for cracking all the section during the lectures.
Thumbnails

Jul 26, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 94
What was your reading score? 25
What was your listening score? 26
What was your speaking score? 22
What was your writing score? 21
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to understand what kind of questions I would have to respond on TOEFL IBT. I praticed a lot using magoosh material. I almost did all of questions avaible in the magoosh site. It really helped me.
I had two weeks to study for TOEFL IBT, but I discovered the magoosh site on internet just 9 days before the exam. So I had use magoosh material to study for just one week. My goal was 80 points and I scored 94. I'm really happy.
Thumbnails

Jul 26, 2017

Score Improvement: +5 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 91
What was your reading score? 21
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 21
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 14
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 24
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 28
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 20
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh training videos are great. It really helped to improve my reading scores.

Start your TOEFL prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jul 26, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 111
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 27
What was your writing score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
It helped me learn the toefl exam structure.
Thumbnails

Jul 26, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 112
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
It was EXTREMELY helpful, especially the reading and listening part! It was my 1st time taking the TOEFL. My dream score was 110 and I scored 112. Thanks, Magoosh!
Thumbnails

Jul 26, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 105
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh improved my reading skills such as skimming and scanning. In addition, I was able to use Magoosh's templates for the speaking and the writing sections on the actual test day. Moreover, Magoosh's preparation material taught me how to listen and take notes in an effective way without loosing track of what the listening recording is about. On the test day, I was familiar with all of the questions's formats and that helped boosting my confidence. Thank you Magoosh's team for your hard work and dedication. You guys definitely made this a great experience.
Thumbnails

Jul 26, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 105
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 28
What was your writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
I had a very little time to study, just 2-3 weekends. I saw the videos and practiced reading and listening questions. For speaking, I just practiced 2-3 questions of each kind. As far as writing goes , I just saw the videos a day before my exam and applied the writing style.
Thumbnails

Jul 26, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 101
What was your reading score? 18
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 27
What was your writing score? 27
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh has always helped me prepare for both GMAT and TOEFL. I can't thank magoosh enough. The practice questions are something very close to what one will see in the real exam. The instructors are extremely amazing and one can reach out to them conviniently.
Thumbnails

Jul 23, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 105
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 23
What was your writing score? 26
How did Magoosh help you?
It was very good and very informative and easy
Thumbnails

Jul 19, 2017

Score Improvement: +13 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 95
What was your reading score? 19
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 27
What was your writing score? 24
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 17
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 20
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 24
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 21
How did Magoosh help you?
2 things very extremely helpful for me to study the right way. First, I had a ton of exercises to practice hours and hours from. Second, The answer videos were amazing! That really helped me focus on what to look for on the exam.

Start your TOEFL prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jul 19, 2017

Score Improvement: +7 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 102
What was your reading score? 28
What was your listening score? 30
What was your speaking score? 23
What was your writing score? 21
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 28
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 27
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 23
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 17
How did Magoosh help you?
Although I had a good score on my first test, my writing score wasn't good enough for the college. So magoosh helped me improve my writing and all the tips allow me to maintein calm on the test day.
Thumbnails

Jul 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 97
What was your reading score? 23
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 23
What was your writing score? 24
How did Magoosh help you?
It made me familiar with the actual test. I was aware of timing and types of questions, which helped me to perform well.
Thumbnails

Jul 19, 2017

Score Improvement: +3 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 100
What was your reading score? 24
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 23
What was your writing score? 26
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 26
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 29
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 18
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 24
How did Magoosh help you?
It was very helpful for me about proper understanding and making template for speaking section. It was marvelous for understanding TOEFL. The lessons, sample answers and explanations are excellent. I think you are the best.
Thumbnails

Jul 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 103
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 25
How did Magoosh help you?
I followed the one month study schedule , the practice questions and the format for speaking and writing part was very helpful. I answered the speaking (main objective and example pattern ) and writing part ( 5 paragraph pattern ) as mentioned in the videos. I did not practice both of these sections I just saw the videos and followed the same in exam.
Thumbnails

Jul 19, 2017

Score Improvement: +11 points
What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 108
What was your reading score? 29
What was your listening score? 25
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 28
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? 27
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? 25
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? 23
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? 22
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped me to improve my score significantly, especially in the writing section. The techniques and concepts taught by Lucas were very effective.
Thumbnails

Jul 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 109
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 28
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 27
How did Magoosh help you?
The practice questions were very good .
The video lectures on TOEFL skills were also good.
Thumbnails

Jul 19, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 110
What was your reading score? 30
What was your listening score? 30
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 26
How did Magoosh help you?
I didn't have a concrete resource for TOEFL. Magoosh was my only resource with all things under the same roof.

Start your TOEFL prep today

Your purchase comes with a 7-day Money Back Guarantee.
There's no monthly charge or hidden fees. Pay just once.

Thumbnails

Jul 11, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 100
What was your reading score? 21
What was your listening score? 23
What was your speaking score? 28
What was your writing score? 28
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? na
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? na
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? na
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? na
How did Magoosh help you?

just followed your videos, Thank you for your Advice ..!! :)
Thumbnails

Jul 11, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 103
What was your reading score? 24
What was your listening score? 27
What was your speaking score? 24
What was your writing score? 28
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh really helped me to understand how the TOEFL is structured and in which points I should work more to improve my studies.
Thumbnails

Jul 10, 2017

What was your overall score on the actual TOEFL? 107
What was your reading score? 27
What was your listening score? 29
What was your speaking score? 26
What was your writing score? 25
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous reading score? NA
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous listening score? NA
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous speaking score? NA
If you took the TOEFL before, what was your previous writing score? NA
How did Magoosh help you?
Magoosh helped to get familiar with overall pattern of exam. I practiced jotting down notes quickly during listening exercises. The review sessions increased my understanding about writing good essays.